Music works

1. The Tractatus Suite.

Composed to selected sentences in the book Tractatus Logico-Philosophicus by philosopher Ludwig Wittgenstein, 1966. The suite consists of six songs in different musical styles: jazz, rock, waltz, atonal classical, march. In 1966 two songs were published as a single; in 1967 the last song, the march Wovon man nicht sprechen kann was published on MAN's first long play album. The whole suite was recorded anew (except for Wovon) in 1989 to commemorate the 100th anniversary of Ludwig Wittgenstein's birth. A partial edition was distributed by Routledge in London, the original publisher of Ludwig Wittgenstein.

2. Mitä merkillistä metsässä? ('Something Strange in the Forest?').

Music for author Jarkko Laine's play for children. D: Jotaarkka Pennanen. 1973.

3. Iso Iita ja jesuiitat ('The Big Ida and the Jesuits').

Manuscript and music for radio to commemorate actress Ida Aalberg's 100th anniversary. Music arr. by Jani Uhlenius. D: Outi Nyytäjä. 1974.

4. Kauko on kako ('Kauko Is Crackbrained')

Music for Helena Reuna's play for schools, 1974.

5. Soi, sieluni, soi! ('Sing, My Soul, Sing').

Song cycle to poems by folk poet Nikolai Toropainen, 1975. First performed in the radio documentary on Toropainen; arr. by Jani Uhlenius. In 1980 recorded by the singer Tapani Kansa; arr. by Seppo Hovi.

6. Kanteletar-sarja ('The Kanteletar Suite').

1982. Five songs to traditional Finnish poetry for a male choir and string ensemble commissioned by the 1982 Joensuu Music Festival. Tonal and atonal music. Arr: Henrik Otto Donner.

7. Missä jatsi on piilossa? ('Where Is Jazz Hiding?').

Musical for children commissioned by the Pori International Jazz Festival, 1982. Arr: Pedro Hietanen.

8. Helena est libertas.

Music for an exhibition of painter Helena Vapaa, 1983. Experimental and progressive rock and lieds in Latin. Arr. by Pedro Hietanen.

9. Earth's Answer.

1991. Song cycle to poems by William Blake. Arr: Pedro Hietanen. Commissioned by Dialogseminariet, the international philosophical congress held in Stockholm, Sweden.

10. Rameaus brorson ('Rameau's Nephew').

1993. Mini-opera to the book Rameaus brorson by the French philosopher Denis Diderot. Commissioned by Dialogseminariet. Performed in Swedish in the Royal Dramatical Theatre in Stockholm, 1993. Atonal music for tenor and bass voice and a chamber orchestra. Arrangement by Henrik Otto Donner. Libretto by Leif Janzon. Performed by Carl Unander-Scharin (tenor), Jan-Erik Eleby (bass) and the Avanti! ensemble conducted by Olli Pohjola.

11. Gustaf II Adolfs afskedstal

('King Gustav II Adolf's Farewell Speech'). 1994. Two songs for a male choir. Arr: Mika Siekkinen. Commissioned by the Vasa Museum of Stockholm. Performed at the Vasa Museum on November 6, 1994. King Gustav II Adolf of Sweden lived 1594¯1632. He gave a farewell speech to the estates of the Swedish kingdom before travelling to Germany to conduct war. After several victories he was killed in the battle of Lützen on November 6, 1632.

12. Wings.

1996. Song cycle to the Czech poet Miroslav Holub's texts. Commissioned by Dialogseminariet. Performed by MAN, accompanied by Pedro Hietanen. Performed in Stockholm's Royal Dramatical Theatre in March, 1996.

13. Pohjoinen tango-oratorio ('Nordic Tango Oratorio').

1997. Song work for two opera singers (soprano and tenor), two tango singers (alto and barytone), a choir and a symphony orchestra. Commissioned by the Helsinki Festival, 1997. Music and libretto by MAN. Arr. mainly by Henrik Otto Donner; additional arrangements by Riku Niemi, Mika Siekkinen, Markus Fagerudd, Yrjö Hjelt. 14. Ajatelma ('Aphorism'). Song cycle to texts by poet Larin-Kyösti. Arranged by Henrik Otto Donner. Commissioned by the Union of Finnish Writers for its 100th anniversary, 1997.

14. Ajatelma ('Aphorism').

Song cycle to texts by poet Larin-Kyösti. Arranged by Henrik Otto Donner. Commissioned by the Union of Finnish Writers for its 100th anniversary, 1997.

15. Hannu ja / and Kerttu.

Music for Jussi Helminen's play for the summer theatre produced in the city of Turku, 1998. Arranged by Mika Siekkinen.

16. Aenigma Aeternum ('Eternal Riddle').

Premieres in 2003. Opera oratorio for six opera singers, a choir and a symphony orchestra. Orchestration by Henrik Otto Donner. Will be performed in 2003. The story tells about the changes in human thinking on God and conception of the world from the year 1000 all through the year 2000 as seen and thought by twelve philosophers from Anselm of Canterbury to Ludwig Wittgenstein and modern nature philosophy.